Grant County Fire District #3 recognized staff and gave out awards at their annual awards presentation on March 2.

About 124 people including staff. Volunteers, support staff, spouses and retirees attended the virtual awards presentation, according to a news release from the fire district. Akins Fresh Market of Quincy was also presented a plaque of recognition as Employer of the year (2020) for their support of the fire district.

Jake Ward, David McPherson, Tyler McCallum, Bryce Rosencrance, Greg Berndt, Kaleb Smartt and Brad Stine were also recognized for completing classes and receiving certifications for emergency medical technician basic training.

The following awards were also given at the banquet for 2020:

DeDe Brown - Most Active Volunteer of the Year for the district

Doug Batey - Chief’s Award

Dalton Broaddus - Rookie of the Year

Station Awards for the most active at their station

1- DeDe Brown Station 30/31 (Quincy)

2- Scott Cook Station 32 (Winchester)

3- Londa VanKirk Station 33 (Block-71)

4- Ethan Williamson Station 34 (Low-Gap)

5- Colin Duggan Station 35 (George)

6- Cliff Affeldt Station 36 (Sunland Estates)

7- Randy Zolman Station 37 (Crescent Bar)

Service Awards for Grant County Fire District #3.

10 Years of Service: Laura Belino, Ken Redburn and Jerem Rhoades

15 Years of Service: Howard VanBaugh and Marcus Westra

20 Years of Service: Mickey Sargent and Joe Westra

25 Years of Service: Steve Evens

Volunteer Firefighter Retirements of:

Arlin Hinkel with 18 years of service

Randy Zolman with 31 years of service

Tom Keller with 41 years of service

Ed Bews with 41 years of service

Dirk Dunn with 42 years of service

Join the online forum

Discuss this article with your neighbors or join the community conversation. Powered by our sister paper, The Wenatchee World.